Daily Archives: September 11, 2013

September 11, 2013

Daily Prompt: Gratitude

Did you know that gratitude is a measure of happiness? I feel like I’m generally a pretty grateful person, but it’s nice to have an excuse to put some gratefulness out into the universe.

I am grateful for…

My family’s current state of good health, which I am aware is impermanent. 

Two things happened recently that make me hyper aware of this.

My dear friend’s son was diagnosed with a rare genetic disorder that will ultimately shift the trajectory of his life and theirs.

A 27 year old graduate student died after the night football game this weekend because of a “catastrophic series of neurological events,” which I think means that she was an otherwise completely healthy person. Alcohol and/or other substances were not involved.

Austin’s current stage of life where playing and exploring are his top priorities. 

Sometimes when I pick him up from school, he runs across the playground to give me a big hug and then asks, “Can I still play for a little bit?” When I say “yes,” he immediately yells to his friend Emma, “EMMA! MY MOMMY SAYS I CAN STILL PWAY FOR A WITTLE BIT!!!”

Or, that his priorities at home are: lining up toy cars, playing trains, wrestling with Joe (and sometimes Ash), and doing somersalts down the front lawn with our 14 year old next door neighbor, Ryan.

Ash’s love of cookies.

You can’t hide a cookie from Ash. If he sees you with anything that even resembles a cookie, he will make a beeline for your hand, point and say, “mmmmmmmmmmmmm!!!” with raised eyebrows. If you don’t immediately give him a piece, he will say, “waaaaaaaaaahhhh!” in a pathetic, desperate attempt to communicate in baby language that he must have the cookie now because he is starving. (Babies have this knack just like dogs). These days, he also wants to share the cookie with you. He’ll take a bite and then he wants you to take a bite, too. Unfortunately that bite has usually become a mangled blob of mush mixed with baby saliva, but how can you say “no?”

Joe’s ability to be calm all the time (except for frisbee golf).

I honestly don’t know how he does it, but I can attest that his calmness has diverted or avoided approximately 3,454,899 potential meltdowns, arguments, overreactions and/or complete freakouts. Thanks, bun.

My brother pointed out that folks may think I’m talking about the kids’ potential meltdowns, freakouts, etc. Um no. That would be mostly me I’m referring to.

My friends and family.

I have kickass friends and family who are brilliant, thoughtful and make our lives as a family easier and happier. And the fact that some of you even take the time out of your day to read my blog is really cool. Thank you.

If you need a little extra nudge to be grateful, check out this cool infographic below.